© City of Ryde

MEDIA RELEASE

Friday 18 October 2024

Extraordinary Council Meeting summary – 15 October 2024

Council held a meeting on Tuesday 15 October 2024. The following is a summary of outcomes from the meeting:

Mayor and Councillors Oath or affirmation of Office

In accordance with section 233A of the *Local Government Act 1993*, the CEO invited each Councillor to stand and undertake either the Oath or Affirmation of Office.

The following Councillors undertook the Oath of Office:

- The Mayor, Clr Trenton Brown
- Clr Daniel Han
- Clr Lyndal Howison
- Clr Cameron Last
- Clr Justin Li
- Clr Roy Maggio
- Clr Kathy Tracey

The following Councillors undertook the Affirmation of Office:

- Clr Shweta Deshpande
- Clr Tina Kordrostami
- Clr Dr Felix Lo
- Clr Penny Pedersen

Note: Councillors Sophie Lara-Watson and Keanu Arya previously undertook the Oath of Office before the CEO in the Council Chambers on 4 October 2024.

Election of Deputy Mayor

Clr Sophie Lara Watson was elected Deputy Mayor for a 12-month term following a show of hands, defeating Clr Dr Felix Lo by eight votes to five.

Councillor casual vacancies

Pursuant to Section 291A(1)(b) of the *Local Government Act 1993* (the Act), City of Ryde Council declared that casual vacancies occurring in the office of a Councillor within 18 months after the NSW Local Government Election on 14 September 2024 are to be filled by a countback of votes cast at that election. It further directed the CEO to notify the NSW Electoral Commissioner of the Council's decision within seven days of the decision.



© City of Ryde

MEDIA RELEASE

Schedule of proposed meeting dates

Council endorsed a draft Schedule of Meeting Dates, noting that the schedule may be amended at any time, subject to one month transition period to allow for public notices to be given. Council further endorsed a Council meeting to be held on 10 December 2024 and noted that the Council Meeting to be held on Tuesday, 22 April 2025 has been moved to Tuesday, 29 April 2025. The full meeting schedule can be found here.

External committee delegates

Council appointed the following delegates to NSROC: The Mayor, Clr Trenton Brown, Clr Shweta Deshpande as a formal delegate and Clr Sophie Lara-Watson and Clr Keanu Arya as alternate delegates. Meanwhile, Clr Cameron Last, Clr Keanu Arya, Clr Tina Kordrostami and Clr Kathy Tracey were appointed as Council's delegates to the Sydney North Planning Panel. Clr Penny Pedersen was appointed as a formal delegate and Clr Tina Kordrostami and Clr Shweta Deshpande as alternate delegates to the Parramatta River Catchment Group. And Clr Penny Pedersen was appointed as a formal delegate and Clr Daniel Han as an alternate delegate to the NSW Public Libraries Association (NSWPLA) Committee.

Local Government NSW Annual Conference

Council resolved to not send any voting delegates to the Local Government NSW Annual Conference being held at Tamworth between 17-19 November 2024. Council further recommended to the CEO that no staff attend the LGNSW Annual Conference.

The minutes of the meeting can be found here

Media Contact: Brett Thomas, City of Ryde Communications m ● 0466 479 556 e ● media@ryde.nsw.gov.au



