City of Ryde

MEDIA RELEASE

Wednesday 2 October 2024

Six new Councillors join City of Ryde

The City of Ryde will welcome six new Councillors and the first popularly elected Mayor since 1965 following the official declaration of results from the 2024 Local Government Election, held on 14 September.

The new Councillors for the next four-year term are Tina Kordrostami (Central Ward), Lyndal Howison (Central Ward), Keanu Arya (East Ward), Kathy Tracey (West Ward), Cameron Last (West Ward), and Felix Lo (West Ward).

They join re-elected Councillors Shweta Deshpande (Central Ward), Daniel Han (Central Ward), Sophie Lara-Watson (East Ward), Penny Pedersen (East Ward), Roy Maggio (East Ward), and Justin Li (West Ward).

Trenton Brown won the popular Mayoral vote, securing 56.51 percent of the vote after the distribution of preferences.

Mayor Brown said he looked forward to continuing to devote his time to the Ryde community and delivering on his priorities, including protecting open space, developing critical infrastructure, and keeping rates low over the next four years.

The Mayor and Councillors will take their Oath of Office at an Extraordinary Council meeting to be held on Tuesday 15 October 2024 at 6.00pm.

The NSW Electoral Commission website contains further details related to the results.

Council will update its website in the coming weeks with the contact details and profiles of the newly elected Councillors.

Media Contact: Brett Thomas, City of Ryde Communications m ● 0466 479 556 e ● media@ryde.nsw.gov.au



